Thoughts on Getting it Done

I handed in a short film script about four Londoners arguing around a dinner table by competition deadline, yesterday. I rewrote the thing like nine times and changed the ending and theme twice. I received feedback from a friend just once. I’ve thought about going back to it a hundred times. I feel good I finished it.

‘Getting it done’ is the most important thing one can do to grow as a writer. It’s like finishing off a whole chook from the supermarket for a bodybuiler. Each whole consumption adds to your growth.  Each time I finish a piece of writing I get a little smarter, a little faster, and little more insight. Clarity is the ultimate perfection we all strive for.

sketch-creepy16

Leave a Reply

