Creating the Deadline

Entering yourself into a job without anything ready is the best and easiest way to create a deadline, correct me if I’m wrong.

My friend sent me an advert for a new science fiction screenplay competition with a wide set of criteria to be judged on. It sounds intense, it’s Australian and it’s found here.

Immerse yourself in the genre and write, right? A similar mantra can be followed if writing copy, code, fiction or whatever. I tend to do this when I can, either to generate work or try something to see if I can do it. Give it a go, guys.

A note: I saw Crimson Peak — excellent. Tight and cinematic. An unrelenting vision from Guillermo Del Toro. I really enjoyed it. It gave me some great ideas for writing genre pieces.

I’m also reading Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom, which is lightly entertaining but not very memorable. I’m trying to finish it before I get bored, which is another self-imposed deadline.

 

Leave a Reply

